GHA Committee for 2023

January 12, 2023

Congratulations to the following members on their appointment to the Executive Committee of the Geelong Hockey Association for the 2022/2023 year.

President Emmaline Shand
Vice President Alan Climpson
Secretary Wendy Climpson
Treasurer Cassandra Calder
General Committee members Verity Adams
Claire Barnes
Emily Matthews
Georgie Van Beek
Gavin Van der Meer












Minutes of the 2022 Annual General Meeting can be found here.


2022 in Review


Facilities Pillar

2022 was expected to be a year of rebuilding and recovery from the effects of the COVID pandemic.  This came about with some unexpected but very exciting developments, particularly in the announcement of the selection of Stead Park as the host venue for the 2026 Commonwealth Games hockey tournament.











The announcement has been followed by significant progress in formulating plans for the infrastructure and facility improvements which will be needed for the Commonwealth Games.  Huge thanks to the members of the GHA Facilities Pillar and other interested persons who have been involved in the planning and discussions to date.  We look forward to further exciting developments in the leadup to the Games.


Recruitment Pillar

The GHA Recruitment Pillar was also very active during 2022, with a busy program of Hockey Roadshows and Hookin2Hockey programs in schools. These activities resulted in a 10% increase in GHA membership and participation compared with 2022, with 914 registered members in December 2022. This included 324 members who had not registered in 2021.

Roadshow and Sporting Schools hockey programs were conducted in 32 schools during the year, with 6080 students participating, a 123% increase on the activities of the 2021 year. 7 Hookin2Hockey programs were run by clubs during the year, with a 30% increase in the number of Hookin2Hockey registrations (75). Nearly 60% of the Hookin2Hockey participants went on to join a team and continue playing hockey with one of our affiliated clubs.

Thanks to the coaches who facilitated these programs – Verity Adams, Claire Barnes, Kellie Barnes, Amber Bowey, Cassandra Calder, Dominic Crowley, Sarah Crowley, Bridget Drum, Sally Fisher, Sam Jackway, Olivia Jenkins, Rachel Moon, Emmaline Shand, Peter Stuart, Chris Weijers.

Many thanks to Hockey Victoria for their administration support, and to Viva Energy which provided funding which enabled this intensive recruitment program to operate.









Thanks to the 2022 Committee

The 2022 year provided many challenges for the 2022 Executive Committee and its members, and we are very grateful for their commitment and their enthusiasm in guiding the activities of the Association.

Special thanks go to retiring committee members, Peter Stuart, Joe Crosbie and Ian Sayers for their work on the committee and for the benefit of the Geelong Hockey community over many years. We wish them well in their future activities and endeavours, with some extra time now available to enjoy them.